19:26 GMT31 July 2021
Listen Live
    Middle East

    Persian Gulf Disarray: a Number of States Sever Relations With Qatar

    On June 5, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, Yemen, Libya, the Maldives and Mauritius severed diplomatic relations with Qatar. Mauritania broke off diplomatic ties with Qatar on June 6. On the same day, Jordan downgraded ties with Qatar. On June 7, the Comoros cut off ties with the Persian Gulf state, and Djibouti reduced the level of diplomatic contacts with it. Senegal, Chad and Niger recalled their ambassadors from Doha.

    Get more