14:09 GMT20 June 2021
Listen Live
    Middle East

    Memorandum on Safe Zones in Syria

    Russia, Iran and Turkey, the guarantors of Syria's nationwide ceasefire, have signed a memorandum on establishing four safe zones, or zones of de-escalation of tensions, in the war-torn country during reconciliation talks in Astana on May 4. The zones will be established for six months with the option of extending them automatically for another six months. The use of arms in the areas is prohibited for all sides.

    Get more