20:17 GMT25 July 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The European Union, the United States, Canada and Turkey are supporting Kiev amid Russia's trade restrictions against Ukraine, Trade Commissioner of Ukraine Nataliya Mykolska said Wednesday.

    KIEV (Sputnik) — Russia suspended its Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) free trade deal with Ukraine effective January 1, 2016, the same day the EU-Ukraine free trade zone – part of a larger Ukraine-EU Association Agreement ratified last year – came into effect. The Russian government considers the EU-Ukraine free trade deal to be a source of certain risks for Moscow.

    "Ukraine made a statement at the WTO General Council regarding Russian restrictions. Our position was supported by Turkey, EU, US and Canada," Mykolska wrote on her Twitter page.

    As the CIS free trade deal was suspended, an embargo on the import of certain Ukrainian food products and customs duties on other Ukrainian goods were introduced.

    The Ukrainian authorities earlier said that the Russian measures did not correspond with the World Trade Organization's norms and announced its intention to raise the issue at the WTO General Council meeting on February 24.


    EU Urges Ukrainian Politicians to Focus on Association Deal Reforms
    Potty Reading: Ukraine’s EU Association Threatened by Toilet Paper
    Dutch Socialists Backing No Campaign in Vote on EU-Ukraine Association Deal
    free trade zone, Europe, Turkey, Canada, US, Ukraine
    Community standardsDiscussion