05:30 GMT +318 August 2019
Listen Live
    NATO eFP battle group soldiers wait for NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg visit in Tapa military base, Estonia September 6, 2017

    Belgian Troops to Join NATO Force in Estonia

    © REUTERS / Ints Kalnins
    Military & Intelligence
    Get short URL

    TALLINN (Sputnik) - Belgian troops will be forward deployed to Estonia to replace the rotating Dutch contingent, the Defense Ministry of the small Baltic nation said Friday.

    "We welcome the Belgian Government’s decision to join NATO EFP [enhanced forward presence] troops in Estonia next year!" the ministry tweeted.

    Estonia’s defence chief Juri Luik said that "as small countries, we see eye to eye on security because our common security depends on the combined NATO force."

    The Belgian contingent will comprise 200 troops armed with infantry fighting vehicles and Israeli-made Spike anti-tank missiles.

    The US-led military alliance agreed at the 2016 Warsaw summit to establish forward presence in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland. The British-led contingent in Estonia has been based in Tapa since April 2017.

    READ MORE: NATO Aircraft to Continue Mission in Estonia After Accidental Missile Launch

    Previously, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg made an announcement, vowing that the alliance would maintain an increased military presence in the Baltic states and Eastern Europe "as long as necessary". He named the alleged Russian threat as the main reason for the move.

    Kremlin, in turn, has repeatedly slammed NATO's military buildup close to Russian borders, vowing to "answer with a suitable response to all of these actions."


    NATO Calls GPS Jamming 'Dangerous, Disruptive', Joins Norway in Accusing Russia
    Analyst on Trump: 'He Clearly Doesn't Have Much Time for the UN, EU and NATO'
    Stoltenberg Avoids Delving Into GPS Jamming During NATO Mega Drill
    'NATO Wasn't at the Table': Stoltenberg Says Europe Initiated Libya Intervention
    presence, borders, NATO, Estonia, United States, Russia, Belgium, Latvia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik