05:33 GMT14 May 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) - The European Commission (EC) said in a statement Thursday that it had fined five banks 1.07 billion euros ($1.2 billion) for taking part in cartels.

    "In two settlement decisions, the European Commission has fined five banks for taking part in two cartels in the Spot Foreign Exchange market for 11 currencies — Euro, British Pound, Japanese Yen, Swiss Franc, US, Canadian, New Zealand and Australian Dollars, and Danish, Swedish and Norwegian crowns", the European Commission said.

    READ MORE: The Holdup: Barclays Loses £2bn in Fines, Slow US DoJ Investigation to Blame

    The first decision ("Forex — Three Way Banana Split" cartel) imposes a total fine of some €811 million on Barclays, The Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS), Citigroup, and JPMorgan. The second decision ("Forex- Essex Express" cartel) imposes a total fine of nearly €258 million Barclays, RBS, and MUFG Bank (formerly Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi).

    According to Brussels, the banks formed those cartels in order to influence 11 different currencies, including the euro, US dollar, pound sterling, Japanese yen, Swiss franc, and others.


    Sign of the Times: Run on UK Bank Triggered by a Rumour on WhatsApp
    Chinese Central Bank Devalues Yuan by 0.6% as Trade War With US Heats Up
    Trumps Sue Deutsche Bank, Capital One to Stop Them Giving Records to Congress
    Royal Bank of Scotland CEO Ross McEwan Resigns, Flaring Tempers on Twitter
    banking, banks, bank, cartel, MUFG Bank, Barclays Bank Plc, Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS), Citigroup, JPMorgan Chase, European Union
    Community standardsDiscussion