23:49 GMT07 August 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    Over the past five years, the United States has imposed numerous rounds of punitive measures against Russia, after it accused Moscow of interfering in Ukraine's internal affairs.

    Reuters stated on Thursday that the US Treasury Department has introduced new sanctions targeting six individuals and eight entities over the crisis in Ukraine. However, later in the day, the news agency advised everyone to "disregard" this information "as the sanctions were previously announced".

    In mid-March, the US Treasury Department targeted Moscow with a fresh round of sanctions, on eight Russian individuals and six entities, including shipbuilding and energy companies. The sanctions were introduced over their alleged role in the Ukrainian crisis. Washington stated that the restrictions were imposed in coordination with its allies: the European Union and Canada.

    After the move, Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev said that the United States will never stop sanctioning Russia because US politics have always been geared in this direction.


    Russian FM Lavrov OPENS UP on Prospects for US-Russia Deal on Venezuela
    Iran: US Sanctions on Iranian Metals 'Against International Norms'
    Pompeo Postpones Visit to Greenland - US State Department
    sanctions, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion