Listen Live
    Refugees are seen in their temporary housing in a former hardware store in Hamburg, northern Germany.

    EU to Charge Member States $287,000 for Every Refugee Denied Relocation

    © AFP 2019 / Daniel Bockwoldt
    Get short URL
    Major Migrant Crisis in Europe (1819)

    If an EU member state refuses to accept a refugee, it will have to pay "a solidarity contribution" of €250,000 to the country which harbors the asylum-seeker.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — An EU member state that refuses to take in an EU-approved refugee will carry the cost of their relocation elsewhere, a proposal tabled Wednesday by the European Commission indicates.

    "A Member State will also have the option to temporarily not take part in the reallocation. In that case, it would have to make a financial solidarity contribution of €250,000 [$287,000] to the Member State receiving an applicant for whom it would otherwise have been responsible", the plan reads.

    The payment, dubbed "solidarity contribution" by Brussels, will be part of a fairness mechanism designed to enforce the Commission’s refugee relocation quotas and help those EU states that are handling a "disproportionate number" of asylum seekers.

    Europe has been beset by a massive refugee crisis, with hundreds of thousands of undocumented migrants fleeing their crisis-torn home countries in the Middle East and North Africa in search of asylum in stable and wealthy EU states.

    Major Migrant Crisis in Europe (1819)


    EU-Greek Deal on Contingency Mechanism Possible
    Almost 80 Mln Turks May Obtain Visa-Free Travel to EU as Part of EC Deal
    EU Demands Turkey Does More to Protect Refugees Ahead of Visa Deal
    EU to Deny Turkey Visa-Free Regime if Ankara Fails to Fulfill Migrant Deal
    refugees, European Commission, European Union
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik