12:45 GMT +319 October 2019
Listen Live
    Canada's Prime Minister Justin Trudeau poses with European Council President Donald Tusk (L) and European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker (R) before signing the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) at the European Council in Brussels, Belgium, October 30, 2016.

    EU and Canada Sign CETA Free Trade Deal

    © REUTERS / Eric Vidal
    Get short URL

    The European Union and Canada have signed the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) on Sunday.

    Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and the heads of EU institutions signed the deal.

    "Today, President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Council Donald Tusk, Prime Minister of Slovakia Robert Fico, and Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau signed the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between the EU and Canada (CETA)," the European Commission said in a press release.

    The partial implementation of the deal will start after the EU Parliament adopts the document.  To enter into force, CETA should be ratified by all European Union members.

    CETA aims to establish a free trade zone between Canada and the European Union. In 2013, Ottawa and Brussels reached an agreement on key elements of the deal. European critics of CETA claim it would undermine standards and regulations on environmental protection, health and safety and workers' rights.

    The agreement was at first blocked by the Belgium’s French-speaking region of Wallonia but on Thursday Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel said that the parties had finally managed to reach consensus.


    Greenpeace on Upcoming Signing of CETA Deal: 'Cat is out of the Bag'
    CETA Trade Deal 'Interfering With Democratic Institutions in EU and Canada'
    Canada's Trudeau Bound for CETA Signing Turns Around Due to Plane Problems
    UN Expert Warns EU, Canada Against Signing CETA Deal Without Referendums
    free trade, Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), Canada, Europe
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik