09:08 GMT13 July 2020
Listen Live
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL
    Western Sanctions Against Russia (722)
    0 14

    Japan, along with the United States, the European Union and their allies, has introduced several rounds of economic sanctions against Russia over its alleged involvement in the situation in Ukraine.

    TOKYO, December 9 (Sputnik) – Japan has introduced sanctions against 26 individuals and 14 organizations that were involved in organizing independent elections in Donbas (Ukraine's southeastern regions), Kyodo news agency reported Tuesday.

    According to the news agency, the sanctions stipulate visa bans and asset freezes.

    Japan's Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga said at a press conference Tuesday that the new restrictive measures will not have an effect on Russian President Vladimir Putin's upcoming visit to Tokyo, Kyodo reported.

    Japan, along with the United States, the European Union and their allies, has introduced several rounds of economic sanctions against Russia over its alleged involvement in the situation in Ukraine.

    Ukraine held early parliamentary elections on October 26. On November 2, the self-proclaimed people's republics of Donetsk and Luhansk (DPR and LPR) held their own elections for the heads of local governments and representatives of local legislative bodies. Kiev called the elections illegitimate.

    Residents of the Luhansk and Donetsk regions in southeastern Ukraine established the DPR and LPR people's republics after they refused to recognize the new Kiev government, which came to power as a result of the February coup. The republics declared their sovereignty based on the results of referendums held in May.

    Western Sanctions Against Russia (722)


    EU to Add More Donbas Independence Supporters to Sanctions List: Council
    New EU Sanctions Show West Unwilling to Stabilize Situation in Ukraine: DPR
    EU Imposes Sanctions on More Individuals, Companies Over Ukraine Crisis
    European Union, elections, Yoshihide Suga, Vladimir Putin, Lugansk Region, Donetsk Region, Russia, Japan, Ukraine, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion