19:46 GMT27 July 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 56

    EU, Caribbean and Latin American foreign ministers have signed a deal that established a 61-nation foundation to encourage bi-regional partnership, the European Council announced Wednesday.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) The pact between 28 EU member states and 33 nations of the Latin American and Caribbean States Community (CELAC) was signed Tuesday in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.

    The signing ceremony was attended by EU foreign policy chief Federica Mogherini, Dominican Republic’s Foreign Minister Miguel Vargas, as well as foreign ministers of the EU and CELAC countries.

    The EU-LAC Foundation was conceived as an international organization based in Hamburg, Germany. It will encourage mutual knowledge and partnership, including debates and cultural exchanges between the two regions.


    Regional Players, Not EU, US Should Reach Stability in Middle East - Tehran
    CETA Stalemate to Cast Uncertainty on All EU Free Trade Deals
    Ruling on EU-Singapore Trade Deal May Let CETA Bypass Ratification Deadlock
    relations, Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC), European Union, Latin America
    Community standardsDiscussion