20:51 GMT30 October 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 10

    LONDON (Sputnik) – Two female authors, Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo, will share over $63,000 in 2019 Booker Prize money, awarded for their novels "The Testaments" and "Girl, Woman, Other," respectively.

    The judges broke the Booker Prize rules to split the award on Monday.

    "The Testaments" is a sequel to Atwood’s 1985 novel "The Handmaid’s Tale." Evaristo’s "Girl, Woman, Other" tells the stories of 12 different women in the United Kingdom.

    This is the second time that Atwood wins the Booker Prize. The first time was in 2000 for the Canadian writer's "The Blind Assassin."


    Kaelin, Ratcliffe, Semenza Awarded Nobel Prize in Medicine For Work on Cells and Oxygen Availability
    Peebles, Mayor and Queloz Awarded Nobel Prize in Physics for Cosmology Work and Exoplanet Discovery
    Award-Winning Indian Music Composer Questions Films Depicting Musicians as Fatal Drug Addicts
    Books, award
    Community standardsDiscussion