14:40 GMT +322 July 2019
Listen Live
    Tech

    Russian spacecraft successfully orbits 3 Glonass satellites

    Tech
    Get short URL
    0 10

    A Proton-M carrier rocket has successfully orbited three Glonass satellites, a spokesman for the Space Forces said.

    A Proton-M carrier rocket has successfully orbited three Glonass satellites, a spokesman for the Space Forces said on Tuesday.

    The Proton-M carrier rocket bearing three satellites was launched from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on March 2 at 0:19 Moscow time (22:19 GMT, March 1).

    Alexei Zolotukhin said that stable telemetric communication was established with the satellites, which were orbited at 3:51 Moscow time (0:51 GMT).

    Glonass - the Global Navigation Satellite System - is the Russian equivalent of the U.S. Global Positioning System, or GPS, and is designed for both military and civilian use. Both systems allow users to determine their positions to within a few meters.

    Russia currently has a total of 22 Glonass satellites in orbit, but only 16 of them are operational. The system requires 18 operational satellites for continuous navigation services covering the entire territory of Russia and at least 24 satellites to provide navigation services worldwide.

    MOSCOW, March 2 (RIA Novosti)

     

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik