09:17 GMT +326 February 2017
Live
    Proton-M rocket

    Proton-M rocket with Intelsat-16 satellite blasts off

    © RIA Novosti. Sergey Kazak
    Tech
    Get short URL
    0 4 0 0

    Russia successfully launched the Proton-M carrier rocket with a U.S. telecommunications satellite Intelsat-16 on Friday.

    Russia successfully launched the Proton-M carrier rocket with a U.S. telecommunications satellite Intelsat-16 on Friday, a spokesman for Russia's space agency said.

    The launch from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan is Russia's first commercial launch this year.

    "The liftoff took place at 03:39 Moscow time [00:39 GMT], estimated separation time of the Briz-M booster is 13:14 Moscow time [10:14 GMT]," the source said.

    The Intelsat-16 satellite was developed by Orbital Sciences Corporation for the Intelsat Ltd., a leading provider of satellite services worldwide. It is equipped with 24 transponders and will provide telecommunications services to customers in Brazil and Mexico.

    Intelsat Ltd. operates the world's most extensive satellite network, comprising over 50 satellites.

    Russia last launched an Intelsat satellite in December last year.

     

    MOSCOW, February 12 (RIA Novosti)

     

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment