Listen Live
    RC-135U - RAF Mildenhall

    US Spy Plane Spotted in Kaliningrad Region Near Russian Border - Report

    CC BY-SA 2.0 / Airwolfhound / RC-135U - RAF Mildenhall
    Russia
    Get short URL
    3215

    Foreign drones and reconnaissance aircraft, American ones in particular, have increasingly begun to appear near Russia's borders, according to the website PlaneRadar.

    An RC-135U Combat Sent, designed to collect technical intelligence on adversary radar emitter systems was spotted in German airspace at 7:40 a.m. Moscow time (4:40 a.m. GMT), PlaneRadar reported posting a map with the plane's route.

    The US plane flew above the Kaliningrad Region border at 8:35 a.m. Moscow time (5:35 a.m. GMT). 

    For months, US aircraft have reportedly been seen over the Black Sea, near the Kaliningrad Region, and also near Russian bases in Syria. The Pentagon has refused to stop intelligence operations close to Russia's borders, despite calls from the Russian Ministry of Defence.

    Related:

    Russian Su-27 Jet Scrambled to Intercept US Spy Plane Over Black Sea - Military
    Venezuelan Military Detects US Spy Plane in Nation's Airspace, Scrambles to Intercept
    US 6th Fleet Claims Russian Jet Intercepted US Spy Plane Over Mediterranean Sea
    Russian MoD Denies US Claims of Unsafe Intercept of Spy Plane Over Mediterranean
    Tags:
    spy plane, United States, Kaliningrad region, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik