18:57 GMT20 September 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 101

    Leaders of the member states of Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) on Friday signed the decree on admitting India and Pakistan to the bloc, according to a Sputnik correspondent.

    ASTANA (Sputnik)  The leaders of Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan during the summit session signed the document on the finalization of the procedure of accession of India and Pakistan to the bloc.

    The members of the organization also signed an SCO convention on countering extremism and adopted the statement of the bloc leaders about the joint fight against international terrorism.

    The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is a political, military and economic alliance comprising Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

    The list of countries that applied for SCO membership includes Pakistan, India and Iran. Belarus, Mongolia, Iran, Afghanistan, India and Pakistan hold observer status in the organization, while Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Armenia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka hold status of dialogue partners.


    Russian, Iranian Foreign Ministers Meet on SCO Summit Sidelines
    SCO Needs Own System of National Rating Agencies - Russian Commerce Chamber Head
    Kremlin More Interested in SCO Summit Than in Comey’s Congress Hearing
    Astana to Host SCO Summit on June 8-9
    Shanghai Cooperation Organization, India, Pakistan
    Community standardsDiscussion