07:11 GMT25 July 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The US authorities have informed Russia of imposing sanctions on a number of the country’s entities over breaching the Iran, North Korea, and Syria Nonproliferation Act, a US Department of State spokesperson told Sputnik on Friday.

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — The State Department said the United States imposed sanctions on 38 foreign entities and individuals from ten countries on June 28, 2016. The measures will remain in effect for a period of two years.

    "We have informed the relevant authorities in Belarus, China, Iran, Malaysia, and Russia of these determinations," the spokesperson stated.

    "These entities and individuals were sanctioned as a result of a determination that there was credible information indicating they had transferred to, or acquired from, Iran, North Korea, or Syria goods, services, or technology," the spokesperson added.

    The Iran, North Korea, and Syria Nonproliferation Act allows the United States to sanction foreign governments, companies and individuals who engage in proliferation activities.


    No Exodus of Austrian Companies From Russia Despite Sanctions
    How Italy's Liguria Struggles to Lift Russian Sanctions
    Russian Envoy to Japan Bemoans ‘Two Years Wasted Due to Sanctions’
    anti-Russian sanctions, US, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion