00:45 GMT08 August 2020
Listen Live
    Military & Intelligence
    Get short URL

    TALLINN (Sputnik) – Japan will become a member of the Tallinn-based NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence in the near future, Estonia’s Prime Minister Juri Ratas said on Friday.

    "I am also glad that Japan will soon become a contributing participant with regard to the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence, which is located in Tallinn," Ratas said during his meeting with his Japanese counterpart Shinzo Abe, as quoted in a statement of the Estonian government.

    Merle Maigre, director of CCDCOE, praised Japan joining the center, calling this move a concrete step forward, showing the commitment in cyberdefense cooperation between like-minded nations.

    The center, launched in 2008, two years after Estonia gained NATO membership, aims to provide its member states and NATO members with cyberdefense expertise in various areas of technology, strategy, operations, and law.

    At present, 17 countries participate in the center’s operation in a status of Sponsoring Nations. This list includes Belgium, the Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Austria, Finland, and Sweden are the center’s contributing participants. This status applies to non-NATO nations.


    Merkel Offered Shinzo Abe NATO Membership, Reports Japanese Press
    From Europe to Far East: NATO Got Its Eyes on Japan
    Japan Wants to Join NATO's Missile Consortium
    cyber defense, cyber, Tallinn, Estonia, Japan
    Community standardsDiscussion