04:05 GMT11 May 2021
Listen Live
    Middle East
    Get short URL

    The interior ministers of the Arab countries, except for Iraq, upheld the decision by the Gulf Cooperation Council (CCASG or GCC) to designate the Lebanon-based Shiite Hezbollah militant group a terrorist organization, according to a joint statement published Wednesday.

    DUBAI (Sputnik) — Earlier in the day, the six-member CCASG, including Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait and Oman labeled Hezbollah a terrorist organization.

    "We fully condemn Hezbollah terrorist group for its role in the destabilization of the Arab region," the statement reads.

    Hezbollah, established in the 1980s, is a paramilitary and political organization originating in Lebanon's Shiite population. The group's primary goal was military opposition to Israel's occupation of the country.

    Aside from the GCC, Hezbollah Shia Muslim movement is, partially or entirely, considered a terrorist organization by a number of countries including the United States, Israel and the European Union.


    Gulf Arab States Not 'Considering Military Action' Against Hezbollah
    Gulf Arab States’ Decision to Designate Hezbollah Terror Group ‘Historic’
    France Takes Note of GCC’s Decision to Designate Hezbollah Terrorist Group
    Iran Condemns GCC’s Decision to Designate Hezbollah Terrorist Group
    terrorist organization, Hezbollah, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia
    Community standardsDiscussion