05:47 GMT25 January 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 0 0

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) - Belgians and other registered EU and non-EU citizens will vote this Sunday to elect members of Belgian municipal authorities for a six-year term.

    Ballots will be cast starting at 8 a.m. (6:00 GMT) for members of 19 municipal authorities in Brussels, as well as for provincial and municipal governing bodies in Flanders, Wallonia and separately in the German-speaking Community.

    READ MORE: Belgium's Flanders Govt Says Region to Be Worst Hit by Brexit After Ireland

    The vote is seen as a test for Prime Minister Charles Michel and his ruling coalition of the center-right Flemish nationalists (N-VA), the centrist Flemish Christian Democrats (CD&V), the Dutch-speaking Liberal Democrats (Open Vld) and Francophone liberals (MR).


    Belgium's Wish to Quit Nuclear Energy Not Feasible Amid Power Shortage Worries
    Work of Nuclear Reactor in Belgium Over Poor Concrete Quality - Operator
    elections, Brussels, Belgium
    Community standardsDiscussion