19:29 GMT17 February 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The association agreement between Georgia and the European Union was finally ratified by all EU countries, according to a speaker at the Georgian parliament.

    TBILISI (Sputnik) — Belgium ratified the Association Agreement between Georgia and the European Union, which was prerequisite to finalize the deal, Davit Usupashvili, a speaker at the Georgian parliament, said Thursday.

    The European Union and Tbilisi signed the EU-Georgia Association Agreement on June 27, 2014. To come into effect this agreement should be signed by all 28 EU states.

    "Good news came from Brussels. Belgium, which was the last, the 28th country of the European Union member states to ratify the Association Agreement, has completed this process," Usupashvili told reporters.

    According to the lawmaker, the association agreement was finally ratified by all EU countries.

    However, the Georgian Foreign Ministry said that the association process has not yet been completed.

    Georgia has been in talks with the European Union over the association deal since 2010.

    The agreement was ratified by Georgian parliament on July 18, 2014. The European Parliament ratified the agreement on December 18, 2014, leaving the document to be ratified by all the 28 EU member states.

    The European Union is also due to introduce a visa-free regime with Georgia in 2016, according to EU officials. The country meets EU criteria for cancelling visa travel, with the European Commission set to propose necessary legislation to the European Council.


    Penultimate EU Member State Ratifies Association Deal With Georgia
    Lack of Ties Between Russia, Georgia Impedes Visa-Free Regime - Official
    Georgia Expects EU to Introduce Visa Free Regime by 2016
    European Union, Davit Usupashvili, Georgia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook