07:13 GMT02 December 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 295

    The BRICS bank was established as an alternative to the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a law ratifying the deal establishing the BRICS New Development Bank (NDB), according to a document published on Russia's official website for legal information on Monday.

    BRICS is a group comprising five countries with major emerging national economies — Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

    BRICS leaders agreed to create the NDB to prompt the development of financial cooperation between the five member countries in 2013

    The NDB is expected to become one of the most important institutions of its kind in the world with a stated capital of $100 billion.

    The lower chamber of the Russian parliament, the State Duma, ratified the agreement on the NDB establishment on February 20. State Duma Speaker Sergei Naryshkin stated that the bank would fund major infrastructure and innovative projects all over the world.


    EU Sanctions Open Door to Russian Market for Asia, BRICS
    India Follows Russia's Lead Ratifying $100Bln BRICS Bank
    Russian Finance Minister May Head BRICS Development Bank Board of Governors
    Nicaragua Canal to Strengthen BRICS, Undermine US Positions in the West
    Brazil, BRICS New Development Bank (NDB), Vladimir Putin, China, South Africa, India, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion