01:38 GMT29 November 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    In late 2017, Brussels issued a blacklist of non-cooperative jurisdictions which are not doing enough to tackle tax evasion or to fight money laundering, and a grey list of countries that are not transparent enough to comply with the bloc's regulations.

    According to an official document, the European Union will remove the United Arab Emirates, and the Marshall Islands from its blacklist of tax havens. The changes will come into force on 10 October.

    At the same time, Switzerland will leave the grey list, as the country delivered its commitments to Brussels complying with its standards.

    The city of Dubai next to lake at night-time, United Arab Emirates
    © CC0
    The city of Dubai next to lake at night-time, United Arab Emirates

    The blacklist, established in 2017, originally included five non-cooperative tax jurisdictions but was later enhanced to list 15 countries: Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, American Samoa, Guam, the US Virgin Islands, Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominica, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Oman, United Arab Emirates, and Vanuatu.


    Italy’s Matteo Salvini Threatens to Resign if EU Intervenes With His Tax Cut Plans
    Council of EU Cuts Liechtenstein, Peru From 'Gray' List of Tax Havens
    Eight Countries Removed From EU Tax Haven Blacklist - Reports
    Switzerland, tax havens, Tax Haven, Marshall Islands, United Arab Emirates, European Union
    Community standardsDiscussion