14:20 GMT +318 October 2019
Listen Live
    A staff worker walks past the national flags of Brazil, Russia, China, South Africa and India before a group photo during the BRICS Summit at the Xiamen International Conference and Exhibition Center in Xiamen, southeastern China's Fujian Province, China September 4, 2017

    BRICS Summit Kicks Off in Johannesburg, South Africa (VIDEO)

    © REUTERS / Wu Hong/Pool
    Get short URL
    0 70

    The theme of the 10th BRICS summit this year, which will be attended by the heads of state or government of the five member countries Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, is "BRICS in Africa: collaboration for inclusive growth and shared prosperity in the 4th Industrial Revolution."

    Five emerging economies known as the BRICS, Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, are holding the first day of the group's anniversary summit in Johannesburg, South Africa, which will last for three days, until July 27.

    The highlights of the meeting's first day are the opening ceremony conducted by Dr R. Davies, Minister of Trade and Industry of South Africa and Programme Director, as well as the address by the host country's President Cyril Ramaphosa. The speech will be followed by the remarks of Brazilian President Michel Temer, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chinese President Xi Jinping.

    The summit is due to wrap up with a declaration comprising joint commitments by the member states for the following year.

    Follow our feed to find out more


    Top 5 Things You Need to Know About BRICS Ahead of the 10th Summit
    Indian Diplomat Advocates Stronger, Sustained Intra-BRICS Economic Cooperation
    China Must Strengthen BRICS Ties Amid US Pressure
    Russian Diplomat Explains Why Free Trade Zone Not Yet BRICS Priority
    summit, BRICS, India, China, Russia, South Africa, Brazil
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik