08:49 GMT +321 October 2019
Listen Live
    Opening ceremony for the 47th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Economic Ministers meeting in Kuala Lumpur on August 22, 2015

    Kuala Lumpur to Host ASEAN World Economic Forum on June 1-2

    Get short URL
    0 46

    The two-day World Economic Forum (WEF) for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) kicks off in the Malaysian capital of Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — ASEAN comprises Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. The association was set up on August 8, 1967 to accelerate economic, social and cultural development in the region.

    The leaders of ASEAN member countries are expected to attend the Kuala Lumpur forum themed "Shaping the ASEAN Agenda for Inclusion and Growth."

    The program of the forum will involve three major topics: "Driving sustainable growth and social inclusion," "Mastering the fourth industrial revolution" and "Strengthening regional relationships."

    The agenda of the meetings and speeches in the framework of the forum will include enhancing productivity through technology shifts, strengthening social protection systems and promoting stability through efficient governance.

    According to the WEF, the forum is set to launch new reports on the future of jobs in ASEAN countries as well as other issues of economic development within the association.


    Charm Offensive: This is Why Russia Bolstering Ties With ASEAN Nations
    'ASEAN Can Benefit From Russia's Expertise' - Philippine Sci Sec
    Philippines Aims to Work on Creation of Russia-ASEAN Scientists Network
    summit, ASEAN, Kuala Lumpur
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik