16:20 GMT01 December 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    Alert over the refusal to provide correspondents of the International Information Agency Rossiya Segodnya with accreditation to cover the EU foreign ministers' meeting was published on the Council of Europe's website.

    BRUSSELS (Sputnik) — The European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) and the International Federation of Journalists (IFJ) issued on Monday a media freedom alert on the Council of Europe's platform over the refusal of the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union to provide Rossiya Segodnya International Information Agency with accreditation to cover the informal meeting of EU foreign ministers.

    Commenting on the publication, EFJ General Secretary Ricardo Gutierrez told Sputnik that in accordance with the established practice the alert would be circulated among the ambassadors of all member states of the Council of Europe.

    "The secretary general of the CoE [Council of Europe], Mr. [Thorbjorn] Jagland, will ask the representatives of Estonia to give some explanations about that ban," Gutierrez added.

    On Saturday, Gutierrez called the move of the Estonian authorities "a serious attack on media freedom."

    Three correspondents of Rossiya Segodnya were rejected to get accreditation for the EU foreign ministers' meeting in Tallinn scheduled for September 7-8 without explanation of reasons. The agency has for the first time faced such restrictions in getting access to coverage of ministerial level events under the aegis of the European Union.

    The EFJ has issued an alert level 2 over the case.


    OSCE Calls on Russia Not to Deport Novaya Gazeta Journalist to Uzbekistan
    Journalist Union: Newsweek's Deletion of False Trump-Russia Stories Logical
    Russia's Bout Faces Jail Term Increase Over Interview to 'Wrong' RT Journalist
    Kiev's Sanctions on Russian Media Contradict European Values - Journalists Union
    Trump-Lavrov Photo Row: Russian Journalists Appeal to US Media's Professionalism
    Accredited Russian Journalists Who Visited Crimea to Be Denied Entry to Ukraine
    journalist, International Federation of Journalists (IFJ), European Federation of Journalists (EFJ), Council of Europe, Estonia, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion