06:13 GMT +316 December 2019
Listen Live
    Canadian flag

    Canada Sanctions 15 Individuals, Including 6 Russian Lawmakers From Crimea

    © Flickr / Lesley Wilson
    Get short URL

    The foreign ministry in Ottawa said that Canada has imposed sanctions on 15 individuals, including six members of Russia’s state Duma who represent Crimea.

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) – Canada has imposed sanctions on 15 individuals, including six members of Russia’s state Duma who represent Crimea, the foreign ministry in Ottawa said in a press release Monday.

    "In order to maintain the necessary pressure on Russia until it fully complies with its international obligations with respect to Ukraine, the Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations have been amended to list 15 additional separatist individuals, including six members of Russia’s State Duma from Crimea, who are subject to an asset freeze and dealings prohibition," the release stated.

    The six lawmakers are Ruslan Balbek, Konstantin Bakharev, Andrey Kozenko, Svetlana Savchenko, Pavel Shperov and Dmitry Belik, according to the ministry, whose formal name is Global Affairs Canada.

    Earlier this month, the US Department of the Treasury and the European Union each added the six Duma deputies to their respective Crimea-related sanctions lists.

    Belik, Kozenko, Bakharev and Savchenko currently represent constituencies in Crimea and Sevastopol in the Duma, the lower house of Russia’s parliament. Balbek and Shperov held local government positions in Crimea after 2014 and were later elected to the Duma.

    Global Affairs Canada said the new measures are intended to maintain the efficacy of existing sanctions and keep pressure on Russia to implement the Minsk agreement, which is intended to end the conflict in eastern Ukraine.

    In 2014, relations between the United States and Russia deteriorated significantly as the Ukrainian crisis escalated, with Crimea rejoining Russia and pro-independence militias in Ukraine’s east defying the government in Kiev.

    Washington and its allies, accusing Moscow of fuelling tensions in eastern Ukraine, introduced a series of sanctions against Russia as punishment.

    Moscow has denied any involvement in the Ukrainian conflict and imposed a yearlong ban on food imports from countries that had imposed the sanctions on it. The embargo was later prolonged as sanctions were extended.


    Canadian Decision to Expand Anti-Moscow Sanctions ‘Deplorable’
    Canada Reduces Economic Sanctions Against Iran – Foreign Ministry
    Canada Adds 3 Individuals, 14 Legal Entities to Anti-Russia Sanctions List
    Russia to Prepare Response to Recent US, Canada Sanctions: Foreign Ministry
    sanctions, Canada, Crimea, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik