18:37 GMT +317 October 2019
Listen Live
    A rusty chain hangs in front of the quay of the small Luxembourg village of Schengen at the banks of the river Moselle January 27, 2016.

    EU Commission Proposes Extension of Border Controls in Five Schengen States

    © REUTERS / Wolfgang Rattay
    Get short URL
    0 13

    The European Commission proposed on Wednesday to prolong internal Schengen border controls in Germany, Austria, Sweden, Denmark and Norway for a maximum period of six months, according to a press release of the Commission.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — The Commission proposed to prolong controls at Austria's land borders with Hungary, Slovenia and Germany, as well as at the Danish ports connected to Germany, the Danish-German land border and the Norwegian ports with connections to Denmark, Germany and Sweden.

    "The Commission has today proposed a Recommendation, to be decided upon by the Council, to prolong proportionate controls at certain internal Schengen borders, namely in Germany, Austria, Sweden, Denmark and Norway for a maximum period of six months," the press release read.

    Border controls are also proposed to be restored at the Swedish harbors in the Police Region South and West and at the Oresund bridge linking Sweden and Denmark, according to the press release.

    According to European Commission First Vice-President Frans Timmermans, the Schengen zone is expected to return to a "normal functioning" by November.


    EU Set to Extend Border Controls as Schengen Borderless Zone Collapses
    So Long, Schengen: Six EU States to Resurrect National Borders in Mid-May
    Migrant Mayhem: Europe Sits on the Fence as Barriers Divide Schengen Area
    Internal EU Border Controls Consistent With Schengen Rules
    border controls, Schengen Zone, European Commission, European Union, Frans Timmermans, Sweden, Denmark
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik