06:46 GMT +320 October 2019
Listen Live
    Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, right, and Foreign Minister of South Ossetia David Sanakoyev

    Russia, South Ossetia Sign Decree on State Border

    © Sputnik / Evgeny Biyatov
    Get short URL
    0 52

    The foreign ministers of Russia and South Ossetia, Sergei Lavrov and David Sanakoyev, signed a decree on state border between the two states.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) – The foreign ministers of Russia and South Ossetia, Sergei Lavrov and David Sanakoyev, signed a decree on the state border between the two states Wednesday.

    The signing of the document followed talks between the two senior diplomats in Moscow.

    South Ossetia declared independence from Georgia back in the 90s. Moscow recognized South Ossetia, alongside Abkhazia, another Georgian breakaway region, as an independent state in August 2008 following an armed conflict with Tbilisi.

    Following the war, Georgia severed diplomatic relations with Russia, and declared the partially recognized states of South Ossetia and Abkhazia as occupied Georgian territory.


    Russia to Continue Intergovernmental Cooperation With South Ossetia
    Abkhazia, S Ossetia Only Have 'Future' as Part of Georgia: Margvelashvili
    Putin: Tbilisi Should Establish Dialogue With Abkhazia, South Ossetia
    World Bank Plans to Support Business in Russia's North Ossetia
    David Sanakoyev, Russia, South Ossetia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik