Registration was successful!
Please follow the link from the email sent to

Moscow victory day celebrations end with firework display

© RIA Novosti . Sergei Piatakov / Go to the photo bankMoscow victory day celebrations end with firework display
Moscow victory day celebrations end with firework display - Sputnik International
Subscribe
Victory celebrations in Moscow came to a grand close with a firework display lasting 15 minutes.

Victory celebrations in Moscow came to a grand close with a firework display lasting 15 minutes.

The display began at 22:00 Moscow Time (18:00 GMT.) The fireworks were set off from 16 locations around the city, two more than last year.

Victory Day marks the final defeat of Nazi Germany by the Soviet Union in World War II. This year, the 65th anniversary of the Soviet victory, was marked by bigger celebrations than ever before.

At 10:00 Moscow time (06:00 GMT) A military parade involving over 10,000 personnel, 150 tracked and wheeled military vehicles, and 127 aircraft and helicopters was launched on Red Square.

U.S., British, Polish and French troops took part in the parade for the first time in history.

After the parade, the foreign veterans laid flowers to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Alexandrovsky Gardens near the Kremlin and attended a number of other events.

Individual celebrations were also held in cities across Russia. Over 102,000 military servicemen and about 200,000 World War II veterans took part in festivities.

Celebrations were also held in other former Soviet states and in many countries in Europe.

MOSCOW, May 9 (RIA Novosti) 

 

Newsfeed
0
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
loader
Chats
Заголовок открываемого материала