18:17 GMT25 January 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    In September 2020, the US Treasury ruled to implement further the President’s foreign policy to "deny the Cuban regime sources of revenue," the Treasury's website reads.

    The US has imposed new Cuba-related sanctions on three entities, according to the website of the Treasury.

    The blacklisted companies are: Grupo de Administración Empresarial S.A., Financiera Cimex S.A. and Kave Coffee.

    It added that sanctions were also placed on three Nicaraguans: Marvin Ramiro Aguilar Garcia, Walmaro Antonio Gutierrez Mercado and Fidel De Jesus Dominguez Alvarez.

    The US has maintained a comprehensive economic embargo on Cuba since 1962 when President John F. Kennedy proclaimed an embargo on trade between the two countries in response to certain policies implemented by the Cuban Government. In 2017, President Donald Trump issued a National Security Presidential Memorandum on Strengthening the Policy of the United States Toward Cuba.

    Nicaragua, sanctions, Cuba, US
    Community standardsDiscussion