01:41 GMT01 November 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) - Presidents of Russia, France and the United States — Vladimir Putin, Emmanuel Macron, and Donald Trump — on Thursday issued a joint statement on the Karabakh conflict, in which they condemned the recent escalation.

    "The President of the Russian Federation, the President of the United States of America and the President of the French Republic, representing the Co-Chair countries of the OSCE Minsk Group, condemn in the strongest terms the recent escalation of violence along the Line of Contact in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict zone", the statement, published by the Elysee, read.

    The three leaders expressed their regret and offered condolences to the families of the dead and the wounded.

    "We call for an immediate cessation of hostilities between the relevant military forces. We also call on the leaders of Armenia and Azerbaijan to commit without delay to resuming substantive negotiations, in good faith and without preconditions, under the auspices of the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs", the statement read.

    Intense clashes have rocked the Nagorno-Karabakh region amid mutual accusations by Armenia and Azerbaijan of ceasefire violations and exchanges of fire. The disputed area has been a sensitive issue for the two republics for several decades since the predominantly ethnically Armenian region broke away from Azerbaijan.

    At present, the republic is governed de facto independently, but is not recognised by any UN member.

    Nagorny Karabakh, conflict, Azerbaijan, Armenia
    Community standardsDiscussion