03:49 GMT18 April 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) - The United States has imposed sanctions against the Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps and two Chinese nationals connected to it under the Global Magnitsky Act, the US Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) said on it website on Friday.

    The Treasury Department said the two Chinese nationals connected to XPCC that it listed are Jiarui Peng and Jinlong Sun.

    Earlier this month, the US imposed Global Magnitsky sanctions on the Xinjiang Public Security Bureau (XPSB) and four current or former Chinese officials, including XUAR Communist Party Secretary Chen Quanguo, XPSB former Communist Party Secretary Huo Liujun, XPSB Director and Communist Party Secretary Wang Mingshan and former XUAR Deputy Communist Party Secretary Zhu Hailun.

    In June, US President Donald Trump signed into law the Uyghur Human Rights Policy Act, allowing the government to impose sanctions against China over alleged human rights violations of the Muslim minority.

    The United States has been claiming that China is holding up to one million ethnic Uyghurs and other Turkic Muslims in re-education camps in the Xinjiang region under the pretext of fighting terrorism and religious extremism.

    China has repeatedly rejected the accusations, saying the claims are not true.

    Magnitsky Act, China, sanctions, US Department of Treasury
    Community standardsDiscussion