15:14 GMT22 June 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    China's National People's Congress (NPC) Standing Committee ratified an agreement on border defense cooperation among member-states of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), local media reported Thursday.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) According to Xinhua news agency, the agreement, aimed at facilitating fight against arms trafficking, drug smuggling and illegal immigration, was approved at the closing meeting of the committee's session.

    The agreement was signed in July 2015 on the sidelined of the 15th SCO summit in the Russian city of Ufa.

    The SCO is a political, economic and military alliance comprised of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan as member states, and India and Pakistan as acceding states. Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia hold observer status in the organization, while Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka have the status of dialogue partners.

    Never miss a story again — sign up to our Telegram channel and we'll keep you up to speed!


    'Russia, China Would Like to See Turkey in SCO if It Freezes Links With NATO'
    Russia, China Could be 'Driving Force' in Creation of SCO Missile Shield
    Putin Plans to Discuss SCO Development, Bilateral Issues With China
    Shanghai Cooperation Organization, agreement, China
    Community standardsDiscussion