19:41 GMT +315 October 2018
Listen Live
    (From L to R) Presidents Serzh Sargsyan of Armenia, Alexander Lukashenko of Belarus, Nursultan Nazarbayev of Kazakhstan, Emomali Rahmon of Tajikistan, Vladimir Putin of Russia, Almazbek Atambayev of Kyrgyzstan and the organization's Secretary General Nikolai Bordyuzha pose for an official photo as they attend a session of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) in Dushanbe, Tajikistan

    CSTO Parliamentary Assembly to Elect New Chair on Thursday

    © REUTERS / Mikhail Klimentyev
    Get short URL
    0 74

    The Parliamentary Assembly of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO PA) will elect its news chairman on Thursday, the Russian parliament's lower house said.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) The CSTO Parliamentary Assembly is taking place in the Russian city of St. Petersburg on November 24-25.

    "Parliamentarians will chose the Parliamentary Assembly's chairman from among the members of the CSTO PA Council in an open vote for a period of three years, with the Council's recommendation stated during a plenary session," the State Duma said in a statement.

    The PA Council comprises the heads of member states' parliaments as well as members of PA permanent committees. The body is tasked with running the assembly.

    Earlier in November, Leonid Kalashnikov, the deputy chair of the State Duma Foreign Affairs Committee, said that Russia would propose lower house speaker Vyacheslav Volodin for the post. Volodin's predecessor Sergey Naryshkin also served as the CSTO PA chair.

    The current agenda of the current PA plenary session includes a number of organizational issues and legislative proposals, according to the State Duma.

    The proposals include improving laws on migrant pensions and countering human trafficking.

    The CSTO is a military alliance comprising Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The organization was set up by former Soviet states in 1992 shortly after the collapse of the USSR with the aim to facilitate cooperation and strengthen security in the region. Serbia and Afghanistan have observer status at the CSTO Parliamentary Assembly.

    The CSTO PA comprises 79 lawmakers from member states and has three permanent committees that deal with social, economic and legal issues, political issues and international cooperation and security.​​


    Russia-Led CSTO Notes Worsening of Military-Political Situation in E Europe
    Russian-Led CSTO Alliance Vows to Face Down Threats, From Europe to Central Asia
    Russia Expects SCO, CSTO, CIS States to Join Aleppo Humanitarian Operation
    assembly, elections, Collective Security Treaty Organization
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment