07:15 GMT +311 December 2017
Listen Live
    World

    Morning re-cap of main news, December 25

    World
    Get short URL
    0 10
    * A Proton-K carrier rocket launched from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan at 8:07 a.m. Moscow time (5:07 a.m. GMT) successfully delivered three navigation satellites into designed orbit at 11:39 a.m. Moscow time (8:39 a.m. GMT). The new satellites, which have an extended seven-year service life, will expand Russia's global navigation satellite system GLONASS

    * The Chukotka autonomous area in Russia's Far East held elections to the local legislature. As of 19:00 p.m. local time (7:00 a.m. GMT), 50.5% of registered voters had come to the polls, crossing the electoral threshold of 50%

    * The Chelyabinsk Region in Russia's Urals area held elections to the local legislature. As of 6:30 p.m. local time, 26% of the electors had come to the polls, crossing the required threshold of 25%

    * Moscow launched the construction of a 73-storey tower of the two-tower multifunctional complex in the Russian Business Center, Moscow City

    * Racism is the most probable motive for an attack on African students Saturday night that killed a Cameroonian and injured another one from Kenya, the St. Petersburg prosecutors said Sunday

    * Divers found the black boxes of an Azerbaijani plane that crashed Saturday 40 kilometers away from Azerbaijan's capital, Baku, killing all 18 passengers and five crew

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment