17:54 GMT +317 October 2017
Live
    World

    Discovery to fly to ISS July 13

    World
    Get short URL
    0 0 01

    MOSCOW, July 11 (RIA Novosti) - The U.S. Discovery shuttle will be launched at 11.51 p.m. Moscow time (7.51 pm GMT) on July 13, the chief spokesman for the mission control center said Monday.

    According to Valery Lyndin, "the launch has been scheduled for 11.51 p.m. The shuttle will dock with the International Space Station (ISS) at 8.27 p.m. Moscow time [4.27 pm GMT] on July 15," he said.

    Lyndin said Discovery would be undocked from the ISS on July 23 and land in the U.S. on July 25.

    ISS crew will conduct three space walks as part of the flight, Lyndin said.

    Earlier, Anatoly Perminov, the head of the Roskosmos Federal Space Agency, confirmed that the shuttle would be launched July 13.

    "The launch is not going to be canceled yet," Perminov told reporters.

    However, he added that the launch would depend on the weather, considering a hurricane was expected on the U.S. coast.

    The shuttle launches were suspended after the Columbia shuttle crashed in February 2003, killing its crew.

    Due to a lack of cargo spacecraft, U.S. shuttles, cargoes and crews are delivered to the ISS by Russia only.

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment