22:29 GMT16 May 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) - The US government has called back its top envoys from the Central American nations of Panama, El Salvador and the Dominican Republic over their decisions to end diplomatic recognition for Taiwan, State Department spokesperson Heather Nauert said in a press release.

    "The Department of State has called back the US Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Robin Bernstein, the US Ambassador to El Salvador Jean Manes and the US Charge d’Affaires in Panama Roxanne Cabral for consultations related to recent decisions to no longer recognize Taiwan," Nauert said on Friday.

    READ MORE: Taiwan Hotel Scraps Marriott Contract Over China Naming Spat

    Last month, El Salvador announced the establishment of diplomatic relations with China after breaking official ties with Taiwan, becoming the third country to do so in the past few months.

    Previously, the Dominican Republic broke away from Taipei and establish diplomatic relations with mainland China. In April, the signing ceremony of an official communique on the establishment of diplomatic relations between China and the Dominican Republic was held.

    Previous year, Panama and China have established official diplomatic relations as the Central American country had broken ties with Taiwan.


    ‘An Invasion’: Beijing Warns US Against Stationing Marines at Taiwan Embassy
    Taiwan Positions Land-Attack Cruise Missile Toward Mainland China (PHOTO)
    Taiwan Hotel Scraps Marriott Contract Over China Naming Spat
    El Salvador Establishes Diplomatic Relations With China, Breaks Ties With Taiwan
    diplomatic row, recognition, China, US, El Salvador, Dominican Republic, Panama, Taiwan1
    Community standardsDiscussion