Listen Live
    Finished galvanized steel coils await roll of the hot dip galvanizing line at ArcelorMittal Steel in Cuyahoga Heights, Ohio Friday, Feb. 15, 2013

    Trump Extends Metal Tariff Talks With EU, Canada, Mexico for 30 Days

    © AP Photo / Mark Duncan
    Get short URL

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) - US President Donald Trump has decided to extend the talks with the European Union, Canada and Mexico on metal imports tariffs for 30 days, the White House said in a statement.

    "The Administration is also extending negotiations with Canada, Mexico, and the European Union for a final 30 days," the statement said.

    According to the statement, the administration has reached a final agreement with South Korea prescribing cancellation of these tariffs on metals imports.

    "The Administration has also reached agreements in principle with Argentina, Australia, and Brazil with respect to steel and aluminium, the details of which will be finalized shortly," the statement said.

    In March, Trump signed an order to impose a 25 percent tariff on steel imports and a 10 percent tariff on aluminium imports. The European Union, Canada, Mexico, Australia, Argentina, Brazil and South Korea were granted exemptions, which were in effect until May 1.

    Numerous EU leaders and officials have expressed hope that the European Union will be exempted from the US new high tariffs on aluminium and steel imports.

    Also, the White House is also expected to announce that it finalized a deal to exempt South Korea from the tariffs, the Wall Street Journal reported on Monday citing a senior administration official.


    WCO Suggests G20 as Platform to Address US Decision on Steel, Aluminum Tariffs
    Russia Demands Compensation From US For Imposing Steel Tariffs - Reports
    China Initiates WTO Dispute Over US Steel Tariffs - Commerce Ministry
    US Tariffs to Have Limited Effect on China's GDP Growth, Exports - Moody's
    IMF Chief Warns World Trade in Danger of Being 'Torn Apart' Amid Tariff War
    import tariffs, European Union, Mexico, Canada, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik