13:52 GMT27 May 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    On Friday, five Democratic Senators introduced legislation to withhold pay from members of Congress during the US government shutdown.

    Senators Heidi Heitkamp (ND), Claire McCaskill (MO), Jon Tester (MT), Debbie Stabenow (MI) and Joe Manchin (WV) announced the bill just hours before the government funding deadline. 

    "If members of Congress can't fulfill their basic duty to keep the government open and provide the essential services Americans depend on, then they don't deserve their paychecks," Heitkamp said in a statement.

    ​Stabenow agreed with Heitkamp's statement and pledged to donate her salary during the shutdown, even if the bill doesn't pass.

    "It's wrong that members of Congress would still get paid in the event of a shutdown while paychecks for members of our military could be disrupted," Stabenow said. "This bill ensures members of Congress will not get paid and another bill I have cosponsored makes sure our troops will."

    Democratic Representatives Sean Patrick Maloney (NY) and Stephanie Murphy (FL) also vowed to donate a portion of their salaries.


    China Accuses US of Violating Maritime Border in South China Sea Incident
    Federal Reserve to Deregulate US Banking Sector Via Tailored Approach
    US Trying to Use Syria as a Garrison for Operations in Middle East, Scholar Says
    Closed: Top-5 Previous US Government Shutdowns to Remember
    US National Security Agency Deleted Surveillance Data - Reports
    government shutdown, Democrat, bill, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook