23:58 GMT +315 November 2019
Listen Live
    US President Donald Trump speaks during a meeting Republican Congressional leaders about tax reform at the White House in Washington, US, September 5, 2017.

    Trump Restricts Visas from 8 Countries, Including North Korea

    © REUTERS / Joshua Roberts
    Get short URL

    On Sunday, US President Donald Trump banned or restricted travel visas to the US from eight countries.

    The new order restricts travel from citizens of five of the six countries Trump listed in his original travel ban: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen. It lifts restrictions on travel from Sudan but slaps new restrictions on visitors and immigrants arriving from North Korea, Venezuela and Chad.

    Trump banned the issuance of all visas to people from North Korea and Syria, but for Iran, he blocked all visas except those of students and exchange visitors. Immigrant, business and tourist visas from Libya, Yemen and Chad have all been banned.

    The new executive order also suspends  business or tourist travel visas for government officials from Venezuela, as well as Somali immigrants, reported NBC.

    The visa suspensions will begin October 18 for Chad, North Korea and Venezuela, while for the five remaining countries, the exceptions to the ban for close family members will remain in place until October 18.

    The administration also added that they will modify the bans for each country based on whether that country shares information about travelers' criminal histories or employs electronic passports with traveler information.

    "The goal is not to indefinitely block certain nationals from coming to the United States. It is to protect Americans until foreign governments do comply with our standards and no longer pose a risk," Miles Taylor, counselor to Homeland Security secretary Elaine Duke, recently said, according to Nbcnews.com.

    "We had a range of countries, from total willful non-compliance and non-engagement to countries that maybe couldn't meet the requirements but were interested in doing so," Taylor said last week.

    "Some countries didn't even have the courtesy to say, 'Go fly a kite,'" he added, cited by Nbcnews.com.

    In several of the countries listed, including Yemen, Libya, Iran, Syria and Venezuela, the United States is known or suspected to have funded anti-government military groups and/or coups.


    New Besties? Melania Trump and Prince Harry Strike Up Friendly Conversation
    Just a Heads Up, POTUS: American Schools Trump About Flag Etiquette, Laws
    A Tweet Too Far: Twitter Explodes Over Trump's Feud With 'Unpatriotic' Athletes
    Trump on North Korea's Leader: 'Little Rocket Man' Won't Be Around Much Longer
    Trump Accuses Iran of Cooperation with North Korea After Missile Test Launch
    Trump, travel ban, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik