03:56 GMT27 January 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    A coalition of 13 US states filed an amicus brief in a federal appeals court to support President Donald Trump’s revised executive order that bans nationals of six predominantly Muslim countries from traveling to the United States, Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton’s office said in a press release on Monday.

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — Paxton is leading the coalition, the release noted, which includes Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Kansas, Louisiana, Montana, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, West Virginia, and Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant.

    “In the friend-of-the-court brief, Attorney General Paxton, 11 other state attorneys general and the governor of Mississippi demonstrate that the president’s new immigration order is a lawful exercise of statutorily authorized executive power over foreign affairs and national security,” the release stated.

    On March 6, Trump signed a revised immigration executive action that temporarily blocks nationals of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen from entering the United States. Unlike Trump’s first executive order, the revised ban does not apply to nationals from Iraq.


    Pace of 'Apprehensions' at US Border More Than Triples During Trump Presidency
    Nunes Findings on Surveillance of Trump Transition Team Not 'Leak' - White House
    Trump Budget Cruel, 'Must Be Defeated' - US Senator Sanders
    travel ban, Donald Trump, Texas, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik