17:33 GMT08 May 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    President Donald Trump’s administration does not rule out adding new countries to the list of states banned from entering the United States, White House spokesperson Sean Spicer said in a press briefing on Monday.

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — On Friday, Trump signed an executive order that suspends entry to the United States for citizens of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for 90 days, bans all refugees from entry for 120 days and bars all Syrian refugees from entering the United States indefinitely.

    "It is a 90-day review period and if you got other countries, please, let us know," Spicer stated. "There is, obviously, the steps we can and should be taking. The President [Trump] is going to continue to do what he can to make sure this country is as safe as possible."

    Spicer added that the US national security remains top priority of the Trump administration, despite criticism of the president's recent executive actions.

    Nation-wide protests erupted in the United States over the weekend, with tens of thousands of demonstrators reportedly rallying at international terminals of major airports on Saturday, and taking to the streets Sunday, demanding to repeal the executive action.


    Airbnb CEO Offers Free Housing for Refugees Caught in Travel Ban
    Priebus Attempts to Clarify Travel Ban Impact on Green Card Holders, Fails
    As Protests Rage, Trump Says Travel Bans 'Working Out Very Nicely'
    Vague Trump Travel Ban Causes Havoc in Airports in Hours After Implementation
    Canadian Foreign Minister Refuses Russian Offer to Lift Travel Ban
    security, citizen, travel ban, Donald Trump, US
    Community standardsDiscussion