Listen Live
    Vice President Joe Biden (File)

    Biden Gives Oath of Office to 34 Newly Elected Members of US Senate

    © AP Photo / John Minchillo
    Get short URL

    The 115th session of US Congress opened with 34 members of the Senate beginning six-year terms after being sworn in by outgoing US Vice President Joe Biden on Tuesday.

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — After giving the oath to newly elected Senate members, Biden turned the floor over to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, who welcomed the new class of lawmakers, seven of whom were elected for the first time.

    "The Senate has a lot of work ahead but for now, I would encourage each of our members who have just been sworn in to take a moment to celebrate the rich tradition of this day," McConnell said.

    The 100 members of the Senate serve six-year terms, with one-third of the legislative body elected every two years.

    The session of Congress that began on Tuesday runs through January 3, 2019.

    Never miss a story again — sign up to our Telegram channel and we'll keep you up to speed!


    US Senate Committee to Suspend UN Aid if Israel Resolution Approved - Senator
    US Senate Majority Leader Wants to Hide Evidence of Alleged Russian Hacking
    Obama Plans to Preserve US Senate Torture Report in Presidential Library
    Obama Urges US Senate to Ratify International Arms Trade Treaty
    US Senate, Joe Biden, Mitch McConnell, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik