07:39 GMT +324 October 2019
Listen Live
    Gov. Pat McCrory

    North Carolina Joins 10 Other US States Banning Entry to Syrian Refugees

    © AP Photo/ Gerry Broome
    Get short URL

    Governor Pat McCrory said that North Carolina will not accept Syrian refugees in the aftermath of Friday’s terrorist attacks in Paris.

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — North Carolina will not accept Syrian refugees in the aftermath of Friday’s terrorist attacks in Paris, Governor Pat McCrory said at a news conference on Monday.

    "I am now requesting the president [Barack Obama] and federal government cease sending refugees from Syria to North Carolina," McCrory stated.

    North Carolina is the latest US state to ban access to Syrian refugees along with Alabama, Michigan, Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, Indiana, Mississippi, Illinois, Massachusetts and Florida.

    However, the US Department of State said on Monday the US federal government continues to support President Obama's plan to resettle 10,000 Syrian refugees in the United States by 2016.

    Over the weekend, French police reported that one of the terrorists involved in Friday's attacks in Paris was found to have a Syrian passport, and likely made it to the country as part of the massive refugee outflow from Syria to Europe.

    The death toll of Friday’s terrorist attacks stands at 129.


    Refugees Must Not Be Denied Asylum Due to Paris Attacks - MSF Director
    Obama Urges Not to Equate Refugees to Terrorists After Paris Attacks
    G20 Leaders Highlight Need to Create Conditions for Refugees to Return Home
    migrant crisis, ban, refugee crisis, Pat McCrory, North Carolina, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik