00:42 GMT31 March 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The men's football team of the 2018-19 season was announced on Monday at the FIFA Best ceremony at Milan's Teatro alla Scala - the globe's premier opera venue.

    Lionel Messi was awarded FIFA's world player of the year for the sixth time in his career. The latest award for the Argentina and Barcelona forward moves him one ahead of Ronaldo, who was also among the finalists. Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have dominated the award since 2008, with their string of victories only interrupted by Luka Modric last year.

    Thousands of players from around the globe participated in the vote organized by world player's union FIFPro.

    The FIFA goalkeeper of the year is Alisson Becker of Liverpool and Brazil. In defence it's Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool) and Marcelo Vieira da Silva Júnior (Brazil, Real Madrid). The midfield features Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands, Ajax) and Eden Hazard (Belgium, Real Madrid).

    Upfront, it's Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Messi (Argentina, Barcelona) and Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus).

    The United States forward Megan Rapinoe was awarded FIFA women's player of the year. Rapinoe scored six goals to help the US team win the women's World Cup, earning her the Golden Boot for the tournament's top scorer and the Golden Ball as the top player. The other finalist for the award was England forward Lucy Bronze.

    Jurgen Klopp was chosen coach of the year at the FIFA Best ceremony after leading Liverpool to the Champions League title.



    FIFA Bans Ex-Head of Brazilian Football Federation for Life Over Bribery
    US Women's National Soccer Team Wins FIFA World Cup Beating Netherlands 2-0
    'F*** Trump': Lyon Fans Congratulate US Team After FIFA Women's World Cup Victory (Video)
    FIFA President Urges Iran to Allow Women Into Football Stadiums After ‘Blue Girl’ Death
    Megan Rapinoe, Italy, award, players, FIFA, Lionel Messi
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook