13:53 GMT27 February 2021
Listen Live
    Sport
    Get short URL
    161
    Subscribe

    Full-contact combat sports are full of dangers, but the ref, who is front and centre of the fight, is usually able to monitor the action safely. However, a recent bout in Thailand was an exception, with the referee hitting the canvas before the defeated fighter.

    Chinese fighter Gou Dakui was about to punch his way to a second-round victory over Thai Super X Sitsontidech when he accidentally knocked out the ref with a brutal kick to his face.

    Dakui apparently failed to notice his gaffe and raised his arms in a gesture of triumph in the neutral corner while the poor ref was receiving medical attention. When he saw what the fuss was about, he got down on his knees to apologise to the man.

    Another referee waved the fight off and declared a knockout victory in Dakui's favour.

    Related:

    'Spinning Fancy Sh*t': WATCH MMA Fighter Deliver Sudden KO in First Round
    Last Emperor Rises: WATCH Emelianenko KO Mir After 'Great' Meeting With FBI
    UFC Star's MMA Husband Nabbed on Attempted Murder Charges
    MMA Fighter Breaks Orbital Bone of His UFC Star Wife
    Tags:
    referee, knockout, Muay Thai, Gou Dakui, Thailand
    Community standardsDiscussion