01:24 GMT04 March 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The shortlist was announced by FIFA on Monday, and the award ceremony is scheduled to take place on September 24 in London.

    Famous Argentinian footballer Lionel Messi did not make it to the annual FIFA Player of the Year award shortlist for the first time since 2006, according to the media reports.

    Messi’s absence now leaves Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohammed Salah and Luka Modric to compete for the prize.

    This development apparently left a number of Twitter users shocked as they tried to process how it could have happened.

    ​Lionel Messi previously won the FIFA Player of the Year award five times during his career, just like his rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who may now win the award for the sixth time.


    WATCH Heartbroken Woman Verbally Attack Leo Messi as He Refuses to Sign T-Shirt
    WATCH Lionel Messi 'Nutmeg' Reporter From Across the Pitch
    Ronaldo, Modric, Messi, Teen Mbappe Shortlisted for Best FIFA Men’s Player Award
    shortlist, award, FIFA, Mohammed Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric, Lionel Messi
    Community standardsDiscussion