02:25 GMT +320 November 2019
Listen Live
    Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo controls the ball during their Spanish first division soccer match against Espanyol at Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid January 10, 2015.

    Ronaldo to Receive FIFA Golden Ball Award for Second Year Running: Source

    © REUTERS / Juan Medina
    Get short URL
    0 25

    Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer are nominated for the FIFA Golden Ball award. The ceremony will take place later today.

    MOSCOW, January 12 (Sputnik) — Spanish forward Cristiano Ronaldo of FC Real Madrid will receive the FIFA Golden Ball (Ballon d’Or) award for a second year in a row, a source in FIFA told R-sport agency Monday.

    The prize will be officially awarded later today at a ceremony in Switzerland’s Zurich, where FIFA is headquartered.

    Other candidates nominated for the award were Argentina's forward Lionel Messi of FC Barcelona and German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer of FC Bayern Munich. However, they received only 15.76 and 15.72 percent of the votes respectively, while Ronaldo got 37.66 percent.

    Ronaldo also won the Golden Ball last year, while Messi received the prize for four years running prior to that.

    In 2014, Cristiano Ronaldo won the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid.

    The FIFA Golden Ball is awarded annually to the best-performing male football player of the previous year. The final choice is based on the votes of coaches, captains of international teams and journalists from around the world.


    Cristiano Ronaldo to Leave Real Madrid at End of Season: Reports
    Ronaldo Gets Top Portugal Honor from Head of State
    Lionel Messi Tops La Liga All-Time Scorers List
    Messi Equals Raul as Champions League Top Scorer
    FIFA Golden Ball award, FIFA, Bayern Munich, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manuel Neuer, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik