10:05 GMT +320 May 2019
Listen Live
    Nobel Prize medal

    Arnold, Smith and Winter Receive 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

    © AP Photo / Fernando Vergara, FILE
    Get short URL
    0 11

    According to a member of the committee, this year the Noble Prize “awards a revolution based on evolution,” going to scholars who “applied the principles of Darwin in the test tube.”

    The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Frances H. Arnold (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA), George P. Smith (University of Missouri, Columbia, USA) and Sir Gregory P. Winter (MRC’s Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge).

    Arnold was awarded the prize "for the directed evolution of enzymes," while Smith and Winter — "for the phage display of peptides and antibodies."

    In 1985 Smith developed a method called “phage display,” which allows using a virus that infects bacteria (bacteriophage) to evolve new proteins. Winter, in turn, used this method to produce new pharmaceuticals.

    Phage display is used to create anti-bodies that can neutralise toxins, counteract autoimmune diseases and also cure metastatic cancer.


    Top 5 Things to Know About Third Woman to Ever Grab Nobel Prize in Physics
    Nobel Physics Prize Awarded to Scientists for Works in Field of Laser Physics
    chemistry, scientists, Nobel Prize, United Kingdom, Sweden, United States
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik