00:58 GMT +317 October 2019
Listen Live
    Members of the Nobel Committee for Physics (Bottom L-R) Chair of the Nobel Committee Mats Larsson, Secretary General of the Academy Goran K Hansson, and Ulf Danielsson sit in front of a screen displaying the names of the winners of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics (Up L-R) Canadian-American James Peebles, Swiss scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz, at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on October 8, 2019 in Stockholm

    Peebles, Mayor and Queloz Awarded Nobel Prize in Physics for Cosmology Work and Exoplanet Discovery

    Get short URL
    0 50

    On Monday, William G. Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza were awarded the prestigious prize in medicine.

    Canadian-American physicist James Peebles has been awarded the Nobel Prize in physics “for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology”, while Swiss astrophysicist Michel Mayor and his colleague, astronomer Didier Queloz jointly share the prize “for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.”

    The scientists will share a $918,000 cash award, a gold medal and a diploma they are set to receive at a ceremony in Stockholm on 10 December.

    physics, Nobel Prize
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik